How long does it take an apple tree to grow?

Approximate Growth Period depends of the variety of tree. A dwarf sprout grown from rootstock becomes a small, bearing tree in 3 or 4 years. In contrast, a large, standard size apple tree, growing past 20 feet tall, can take up to 8 years to bear fruit.