How long does it take an apple tree to grow?

Approximate Growth Period depends of the variety of tree. A dwarf sprout grown from rootstock becomes a small, bearing tree in 3 or 4 years. In contrast, a large, standard size apple tree, growing past 20 feet tall, can take up to 8 years to bear fruit.

---

A seedling of any apple variety will grow into a tree from 12 to 20 feet high and take six to 10 years to bear apples. You can reduce the size of a tree and shorten its bearing time by planting specially developed rootstocks with a grafted scion of the apple variety you want.