How far can a eight week old baby see?

At eight weeks, your baby might recognize your face, but can still only see what's 8-12 inches in front of him. However, his attention span might have gotten longer. Up until now, Baby might have stared at your face for only a few seconds. Now he will be able to hold his gaze for up to 10 seconds.