What's in vanilla flavoring?

Most artificial vanilla products contain vanillin, which can be produced synthetically from lignin, a natural polymer found in wood. In the United States, castoreum, the exudate from the castor sacs of mature beavers, has been approved by the Food and Drug Administration.