Do eggs float when they're rotten?

A fresh eggs sinks in water, while an old egg will tip up or even float. This is because air bubbles form in an egg over time allowing it to float. This does not tell you if an egg is good or rotten, just if it is fresh. Rotten eggs can sink in water.