What is the purpose of a housefly?

Most fly species help break down and consume garbage, feces, decaying vegetation and dead animal bodies. Some assist with the pollination of plants. Nlowfly larvae help determine the time of death in homicide cases. Doctors may use fly larvae, or maggots, when debriding wounds in burn patients.