How are stingrays born?

Stingrays are ovoviviparous, bearing live young. Females hold the embryos in the womb without a placenta. The embryos absorb nutrients from a yolk sac, and after the sac is depleted, the mother provides uterine milk. After birth the offspring swim away having been born with instinctual abilities.