How many varieties of corn are there?

There are 6 major types of corn: dent (most field corn), flint (the colorful varieties also called Indian corn), pod (a wild type from which modern corn originated), sweet (the type eaten on the cob), flour (composed largely of soft starch and easy to grind) and popcorn.

---

There are many varieties of corn, but two main types. These are sweet corn (human food), and there is corn grown for feeding cattle. The feed corn is not sweet.