How deep do you plant onions?

Bulbs grown for scallions or green onions are planted 1 to 2 inches deep and one to two inches apart in rows that are 18 inches apart. Bulbs grown for traditional onions are planted the same depth, five to six inches apart in rows that are one to two feet apart.