What's the difference between a bourbon and a whiskey?

Whiskey is a very generic term for spirits distilled from any kind or mix of grain without regard to aging process. Bourbon is a specific kind of American style whiskey made from at least 51% corn (the rest being any cereal grain) then aged in oak