What's the difference between a nurse practitioner and a doctor?

Doctors must complete four years of undergraduate education, followed by four years of medical school and 3-7 years of residency. Nurse practitioners complete four years of undergraduate study, generally work for several years, then complete 2-4 years of additional schooling for their DNP degrees.

---

Its more correct to understand the difference between a Registered Nurse (R,N) and a Nurse Practitioner (N,P), An NP can see patients, prescribe medications, and refer patients to specialist. NP's usually hold masters degrees as opposed to a doctorates degree, required of physicians.