What is the etymology of the word hot dog?

The word "dog" has been in use when describing sausages since the 19th century, likely based on sometimes-accurate suspicions that dog meat was used in some sausages. An early use of the term "hot dog" appears in an 1884 edition of the Evansville Daily Courier.