How do i cut a scallion?

Lay the scallions in a single layer on a sturdy cutting board. Cut off 2 inches of the green tops and the root ends. Hold the scallions in place and slide the blade back and forth in a steady motion. Make the scallions as thin as you like, for example, cut them between a quarter inch and half inch.