How many carbohydrates are in one calorie?

It doesn't work like that. The calories in food come from carbohydrates, proteins, and fats: A gram of carbohydrate has 4 calories. A gram of protein has 4 calories. A gram of fat has 9 calories — more than twice as much as the other two.

---

A calorie is a unit of energy and a carbohydrate is a type of nutrient. While carbohydrates contain calories, a calorie cannot “contain” a carbohydrate.