What's the history of oreos?

In 1908 the Sunshine Biscuits company made a cookie called Hydrox. Nabisco has never named Hydrox as its inspiration but the Oreo cookie was invented four years after Hydrox and closely resembled the biscuit that preceded it: two decorated chocolate discs with white creme sandwiched between them.