What's the longest someone's ever gone without sleep?

According to Scientific American, the longest a human is able to stay awake for is 264 hours (11 days). The record was set was by a 17-year-old named Randy Gardner in 1965. Not getting enough each night can lead to health risks, such as diabetes, heart problems, depression, and even car accidents.