What's the longest someone's ever gone without sleep?

A 17 year old San Diego, California student by the name of Randy Gardner set the record in 1964 for the longest human to go without sleep. He stayed awake for 11 days 25 hours (264.4 hours) beating the previous record of 260 hours held by DJ Tom Round in Honolulu.