How often should you vacuum your floors?

Carpeted floors in high-traffic areas of the home where shoes are worn should generally be vacuumed once a week. If shoes are not worn indoors, you may be able to vacuum less frequently. Indoor pets will also affect how often you need to vacuum, due to hair and dander accumulating in the carpet.