Where did dumplings originate from?

Most experts believe that dumplings were invented by Zhang Zhongjing, a Chinese medicine practitioner who lived in the Eastern Han Dynasty, the second imperial dynasty of China that lasted from 206 BC to 220 AD.

---

The first dumpling recipe appeared in a Roman cookery manuscript called Apicius, which was assumed to have been written sometime in around A.D. 400, and archeologists have found evidence of dumplings being eaten in China during the Tang dynasty and in Switzerland as far back as 3,600 B.C.