Who started jazz music?

Jazz music was, ultimately, the product of New Orleans' cultural melting pot. European classical music, American blues, and South American songs and rhythms came together to form what became known as jazz. Trumpet player Louis Armstrong is considered the father of modern jazz improvisation.