How do you clean the sole plate of an iron?

Dampen a towel with distilled white vinegar & wipe the iron's soleplate to clean. In some situations, some residue may remain, which will call for soaking a clean towel in distilled vinegar and laying the cool iron soleplate on the towel. Simply let it soak for 15-30 minutes, then wipe away dry.