How long does it take to cook a sweet potato on the grill?

Depends on the size of the potato, the temperature of the grill an whether the potato is placed directly over the heat source or a cooler spot on the grill. I would suggest the following: large potato temp 400-425 prick on 2 sides of potato don't place directly over heat source 45 - 60 min.