What is the origin of the name caisson?

1: A chest to hold ammunition or a usually 2-wheeled vehicle for artillery ammunition attachable to be horse-drawn. 2: a watertight chamber used in construction work under water or as a foundation 3: a hollow floating box or a boat used as a floodgate for a dock or basin