Who came out first mario or sonic?

Mario was first seen in July 9, 1981 in Donkey Kong. Sonic first appearance was June 23,1991 in Sonic the hedgehog game. Later released was Mario and Sonic at the Olympic games Tokyo November 1, 2019.