Do avocados have pits or seeds?

The seed of an avocado is usually referred to as a 'pit'. They are in essence a seed but while there can be many seeds in some fruits the term pit is used in reference to a fruit that has a single 'seed' such as stone fruits - cherries, peaches, apricots, plums and avocados.

---

An avocado has a seed.