What is cern trying to accomplish?

CERN is a facility designed to collide very high-energy sub-atomic particles, usually protons, together at very high energies and attempt to observe the particles resulting from those collisions. For example, CERN scientists determined that they had observed the Higgs boson, predicted years before.