What do you use power ups for?

Power ups are basically objects that are made to give temporary or permanent upgrades to the player, these are mainly found in action oriented games such as puzzle games, fighting games, platformers, shooters, racing games, etc. They can give to a player a wide variety of abilities and upgrades.