Why did the twin towers collapse?

Hijacked jets collided with the buildings, the fireball was too hot for the structure. Those above the crashes died due to smoke and some below died because they didn't move fast enough before the towers crumpled into little more than the 8 story sub structure beneath Manhattan NYC on Sep. 11 2001