Why does chance the rapper wear a three on his hat?

In an interview, Chance the Rapper explained the “3” hats, saying they represent his third mixtape, Coloring Book. “I wanted to switch from the White Sox hat. I wanted to put something else on the hat. And so I decided to do '3,'” he explained.