What is c. three p. o. made out of?

C-3PO was built by Anakin Skywalker. In the majority of depictions, C-3PO's appearance is primarily a polished gold plating. However, in the Phantom Menace there is an absence of metal coverings; in Attack of the Clones he has a dull copper plating; and in The Force Awakens he has a red left arm.