What is a flower preservative?

Flower preservative is that little packet of powdered stuff you put in a vase with flowers from a florist that keeps them fresh longer. You can make your own with 2 tablespoons white vinegar, 2 tablespoons sugar, ½ teaspoon household chlorine bleach, and 1 quart warm water.