What country started the tradition of exchanging gifts?

Most probably Italy. As the date for Christmas itself was supposedly fixed on the pagan Saturnalia in order that the people would more readily embrace the new tradition of celebrating Christ's birth, other pagan practices including exchanging gifts were likewise adopted.