How do you flay a fish?

According to Wikipedia, in preparation for filleting, the scales on the fish should be removed. The contents of the abdominal cavity also need careful detaching from the fillet. Fish fillets are generally obtained by slicing parallel to the spine, rather than perpendicular to the spine.