Why are fire hydrants different colors?

the color of the hydrant lets the fire department know how much water is available for them to use (gallons per minute). Below 500GPM should be red, 500-999 GPM should be orange, 1000-1499 GPM should be green, and 1500 GPM or more should be blue.