Why do geese fly in a v. pattern?

When geese fly together, each goose provides additional lift and reduces air resistance for the goose flying behind it. When a goose drops out of the v-formation it quickly discovers that it requires a great deal more effort and energy to fly.

---

The aerodynamics of the wind being pushed by the birds' wings allows for the least amount of friction, applied force, and obstruction during flight so that the birds exhaust the smallest amount of energy and are able to fly further before having to eat and rest again and make longer journeys.