What is the history of the united states national anthem?

Francis Scott Key wrote the lyrics to The National Anthem of the United States of America. He wrote it after witnessing the British bombardment of Fort McHenry. These lyrics were sung to the song of "To An Anecreon In Heaven", a popular drinking bar song.