Tell me about caviar?

Caviar is the salted and preserved eggs or roe from a specific family of fish called sturgeon. Other kinds of eggs or roe can be used, but is not called caviar. The roe of salmon, whitefish, trout, cod, red ikura, and tobiko are popular, but are not true caviar.