When was the color blue invented?

Considered to be the first ever synthetically produced color pigment, Egyptian blue was created around 2,200 B.C. It was made from ground limestone mixed with sand and a copper-containing mineral, such as azurite or malachite, which was then heated between 1470 and 1650°F.