How long is the sun expected to last?

Existing for about 4 and a half billion years, it has burnt up about half of the hydrogen in its core. This leaves the Sun's life expectancy to 5 billion more years, at which time, the Sun's elements will "swell" up, swallow Earth, and eventually die off into a small white dwarf.