What is the difference between green peppers and red peppers?

All three colors of peppers represent different varieties of the same species. However, a red or yellow bell pepper that's picked too early will stay green. But some green bell peppers which house a specific genetic mutation, much like human traits for eye or hair color, will stay green forever.