Is there a substitute for pepper?

A white pepper and cayenne pepper mix. You can get much of that complexity back with the addition of cayenne pepper. When combining these two spices as a substitute for a half teaspoon of black pepper, use half teaspoon of white pepper and 1 8th teaspoon of cayenne.