Tell me about a pomegranate?

A pomegranate is a juicy red succulent fruit with a green outer layer. Jewish tradition teaches that they are a symbol for righteousness. It is said to have 613 seeds that corresponds with the 613 commandments of the Torah. In some depictions, the fruit is found in the hand of Mary mother of Jesus.