What's a mast head?

In sailing, a masthead is the top of a mast, a vertical pole that supports the sails. In publishing, it's the banner name on the front page of a newspaper or periodical

---

In American usage, a publication's masthead is a printed list, published in a fixed position in each edition, of its owners, departments, officers, contributors and address details, which in British English usage is known as imprint.