What was the deadliest tornado in u. s. history?

The deadliest tornado on record in the United States took place on March 18, 1925 when the "Tri-State Tornado" caused a path of destruction across the Midwest. The tornado began about 1 p.m. northwest of Ellington, Mo., and had killed 11 people by the time it reached the Mississippi River.