What is the difference between monkey pox and chicken pox?

The diseases are caused by different viruses: monkeypox is an orthopoxvirus while chickenpox is caused by the varicella-zoster virus, which also causes shingles. Both virus can spread through close contact through respiratory droplets and direct contact with skin lesions.