Why is mickey mouse a mouse?

In 1925 Hugh Harman drew some sketches of mice around a photograph of Walt Disney. These inspired Ub Iwerks to create a new mouse character for Disney. Mortimer Mouse had been Disney's original name for the character before his wife convinced him to change it and ultimately Mickey Mouse came to be.