Who were the wampanoag?

The Wampanoag, or Wôpanâak, are a Native American people, and an indigenous people of the Northeastern Woodlands in southeastern Massachusetts, and historically parts of eastern Rhode Island. Their territory included the islands of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket.