Which is closer to earth the moon or the sun?

The moon is closer to the earth than the sun. The moon's distance ranges from 363,000 to 406,000 kilometres, whereas the sun is 152 million kilometers away. You could travel to the moon and back at least 187 times before reaching the sun, at constant speed.