Where was cheese dip invented?

According to Nick Rogers, who has researched the history of cheese dip, the dish was invented by Blackie Donnely, the original owner of Mexico Chiquito restaurants. The Mexico Chiquito chain, was opened by Donnely and his wife in North Little Rock in 1935.