Is mistletoe a parasite?

Yes. All mistletoe grow as parasites on trees and shrubs. Did you know, ancient Anglo-Saxons noticed that mistletoe often grows where birds leave droppings, which is how mistletoe got its name: In Anglo-Saxon, “mistle” means “dung”, and “tan” means “twig,” hence, “dung-on-a-twig.”

---

Yes, mistletoe grows upon other plants, pulling nutrients from them without significant benefit to the host plant meeting the definition of a parasite.