What is grapple precipitation?

Graupel is a rare type of winter precipitation. It happens when supercooled liquid freezes onto the surface of a snow flake. Once the snow flake is completely covered by this frozen supercooled liquid and no longer resembles a crystal, it is referred to as graupel.