Why are hospitals cold?

Bacteria thrive in warm environments, so hospitals combat this with cold temperatures, which help slow bacterial and viral growth. Operating rooms are some of the coldest areas in a hospital, usually around 65-69 degrees with a humidity of 70%, to keep the risk of infection at a minimum.